‘I Am Not Attending Tonight’s Sham.’ At Least 10 Reps Opting Out Of The State Of The Union

At least ten House Democrats planned to boycott President Donald Trump’s State of the Union address Tuesday night, as the Senate is expected to vote to acquit the commander in chief in his impeachment trial the next day.

U.S. Rep. Ayanna Pressley announced via Tweet that she will not be attending President Donald Trump’s State of the Union address Tuesday night.

“I am not attending tonight’s sham,” she tweeted around 5 p.m.

In the tweet, she retweeted a message from her official congressional account that included a photo of her dressed in black, arms folded, in front of the U.S. Capitol building in Washington, D.C.

“The State of the Union is hurting because of the occupant of the White House, who consistently demonstrates contempt for the American people, contempt for Congress & contempt for our constitution,” she said. “I cannot in good conscience attend tonight’s sham.”

New York Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez retweeted Pressley’s announcement in support. The congresswoman said she also will not be going.

After much deliberation, I have decided that I will not use my presence at a state ceremony to normalize Trump’s lawless conduct & subversion of the Constitution.

None of this is normal, and I will not legitimize it.

Consequently, I will not be attending the State of the Union. She tweeted today.

Both Omar and Tlaib confirmed they would be attending via Twitter, though Omar did include a caveat.

“I am attending tonight’s address not to confer any legitimacy on his actions, his statements, or his presidency,” Omar said. “I am attending on behalf of all of those targeted by this President to say, ‘We are greater than hate.’ My presence tonight is resistance.”

Maxine Waters tweeted:

Bennie G. Thompson tweeted:

Representative Al Green (D-Texas)also added himself to the list and tweeted:

Hank Johnson was also active on Twitter:

So, all in all, we have at least 10 House Democrats who have pledged to skip Tuesday night’s State of the Union address as of Tuesday afternoon, according to a count by ABC News. The list of those who will not attend includes:

Rep. Earl Blumenauer (D-Ore.)
Rep. Steve Cohen (D-Tenn.)
Rep. Frederica Wilson (D-Fla.)
Rep. Ayanna Pressley (D-Mass.)
Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-N.Y.)
Rep. Maxine Waters (D-Calif.)
Rep. Bobby Rush (D-Ill.)
Rep. Bennie Thompson (D-Miss.)
Rep. Al Green (D-Texas)
Rep. Hank Johnson (D-Ga.)

Please share this article wherever you can. It is the only way we can work around their censorship and ensure people receive news about issues that Democrats and the mainstream media suppress.

Alex D.

Alex D is a conservative journalist, who covers all issues of importance for conservatives. He writes for Supreme Insider, Red State Nation, Defiant America, and Right Journalism. He brings attention and insight from what happens in the White House to the streets of American towns, because it all has an impact on our future, and the country left for our children. Exposing the truth is his ultimate goal, mixed with wit where it's appropriate, and feels that journalism shouldn't be censored. Join him & let's spread the good word!

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x